

## **About the Central Florida Expressway Authority**

The Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) is an independent agency of the state that operates and maintains a regional network of expressways for 2.3 million residents and more than 60 million visitors in Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole Counties. Created by the Florida Legislature in 2014, CFX's 109-mile user-funded system includes 767 center lane miles, 64 interchanges, 13 mainline toll plazas, 71 ramp toll plazas and 301 bridges and seven named expressways. On average, more than 1 million toll transactions are recorded daily, 85 percent of them electronically. CFX operates E-PASS, the first electronic toll collection system in Florida, which supports more than 300,000 E-PASS accounts where customers pay 23% less than motorists using cash. E-PASS is accepted on all toll roads and most bridges in Florida, Georgia, and North Carolina.

The CFX Governing Board has six local elected officials, representing the four counties and the city of Orlando, three governor appointees, and the executive director of Florida Turnpike Enterprise as a non-voting advisory member. CFX receives no tax state or local tax dollars. Tolls pay for the entire system. Toll revenues are reinvested in programs or projects that are feasible, economically sound and improve the levels of local service. CFX's enabling legislation allows the agency to acquire, construct and equip rapid transit, trams and fixed guideways within its right-of-way. CFX holds A and A2 bond ratings from the three major rating agencies and its outlook, according to the rating agencies, ranges from stable to positive.