News Releases

Commissioner Curt Smith Appointed To Central Florida Expressway Authority

Commissioner Curt Smith, who represents District 4 on the Brevard County Board of County Commissioners, has been appointed to the Central Florida Expressway Authority to represent Brevard citizens’ interest on future transportation needs in the region.

Smith received the appointment from County Commission Chairman Kristine Isnardi. His first CFX meeting is scheduled for 9 AM Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018, in Orlando. The CFX, established in 2014, is a toll-funded organization responsible for transportation planning in a region that includes Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole counties.

“I am deeply honored and extremely excited to be representing Brevard County on the Central Florida Expressway Authority,” Smith said.

In November, Smith was re-elected to his second four-year term on the five-member Board of County Commissioners. District 4 includes all or part of Indian Harbour Beach, Melbourne, Palm Shores, Rockledge and Satellite Beach, as well as sections of unincorporated Brevard, including Suntree and Viera.

One of the major accomplishments in Smith’s first term in office included getting Brevard County represented on the CFX. While serving as chairman of the Brevard Board of County Commissioners, Smith presented his case in 2017 for Brevard’s inclusion to the Authority. The CFX heard his proposal and voted unanimously to accept Brevard as its newest member.

Smith’s appointment to the CFX is for a one-year term.


Facts & Resources

Media Inquiries

Brian Hutchings Senior Communications Specialist Phone: (407) 690-5343 Email:

Overview >

Facts about CFX

Media Kit >

Photos and logos

In The News >

Recent articles

News Releases >

Press releases

Executive Biography >

Laura Kelley, Executive Director

Newsletters >

Recent additions

Filter By Date

Back to Top of Page