News Releases

Central Florida Expressway Authority Joins E-ZPass Group

The E-ZPass Group, a consortium of toll roads and bridges across the eastern United States, announced today that the Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) will be the first toll agency in Florida to accept E-ZPass for payment of tolls on designated Florida toll roads owned and operated by CFX in the Metro Orlando region.

By late 2018, the more than 35 million E-ZPass customers in 16 states — from Maine to North Carolina and west through Illinois — will experience the convenience of nonstop travel in Metro Orlando without fumbling for change at toll gantries.

“Expanding our network into Florida is wonderful news for E-ZPass customers who count themselves among the estimated 68 million annual visitors to the Orlando area,” said E-ZPass Group Executive Director P.J. Wilkins. “One of our main objectives is to improve the ease and uninterrupted travel that E-ZPass customers enjoy, and portability to the Sunshine State is certainly a common request.”

The Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) operates a 118-mile system of expressways in Metro Orlando while serving Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole counties. It processes more than 1 million transactions per day; more than 80 percent of CFX drivers pay electronically via an existing toll-transponder system called E-PASS.

“By joining the E-ZPass group, CFX is furthering the conversation toward seamless travel on all toll roads regardless of where you live, work or play.”  Said CFX Executive Director Laura Kelley “Our collaboration is another example of CFX’s commitment to putting our customers first.”

The over a half-million E-PASS toll transponders in circulation in Metro Orlando and throughout Florida will not function at existing E-ZPass facilities; however, CFX E-PASS customers will have the opportunity, if they choose, to request a special tag that does work at all E-ZPass toll plazas in the 16 state region. Details will be forthcoming.

CFX Chairman and Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer said, “As the first agency to offer electronic toll collection in the State of Florida, it is only fitting that we are the first to accept E-ZPASS as payment on our system. We are thrilled that more visitors than ever will experience seamless travel on the beltway that connects our community.”

“Continuing to expand E-ZPass helps toll operators become more efficient and better prepared to manage growth,” said E-ZPass Group Executive Committee Chair Craig R. Shuey. “Our efforts to grow into other markets ultimately boost mobility, safety and customer value across all regions we serve.”

The E-ZPass Group was founded in 1993 with seven agencies in three states; today, 37 toll-agencies in 16 states participate in the interoperable program. (CFX activation will bring the total to 38 agencies in 17 states.)

More details will be forthcoming as the interoperability project gets underway.


Facts & Resources

Media Inquiries

Brian Hutchings
Manager of Communications
Phone: (407) 690-5343

Overview >

Facts about CFX

Media Kit >

Photos and logos

In The News >

Recent articles

News Releases >

Press releases

Executive Biography >

Laura Kelley, Executive Director

Newsletters >

Recent additions

Filter By Date


Back to Top of Page