News Releases

Brenda Carey Elected Chairman of the Central Florida Expressway Authority

(ORLANDO, FL) ̶ Seminole County District 5 Commissioner Brenda Carey was unanimously elected as the first female Chairman of the Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) Governing Board by her fellow Board members.

Commissioner Carey has served as a CFX board member since its creation in 2014 and has represented the residents of District 5 in Seminole County since 2004.

“I am honored to be the first woman to serve as Chairman of the Governing Board,” Carey said. “Most importantly, I look forward to continuing the important work of the agency in building and maintaining the highest quality transportation infrastructure while creating local jobs and promoting smart growth for our region.”

At Thursday’s meeting the 10-member Board also unanimously elected: Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer as vice chairman and District 1 Orange County Commissioner Betsy VanderLey as treasurer.

The CFX Governing Board has seven local elected officials, representing the counties of Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole, the city of Orlando, three governor appointees, and the executive director of Florida Turnpike Enterprise as a non-voting advisory member.


Facts & Resources

Media Inquiries

Brian Hutchings Senior Communications Specialist Phone: (407) 690-5343 Email:

Overview >

Facts about CFX

Media Kit >

Photos and logos

In The News >

Recent articles

News Releases >

Press releases

Executive Biography >

Laura Kelley, Executive Director

Newsletters >

Recent additions

Filter By Date

Back to Top of Page