News Releases

Osceola County Chairman, District 5 Commissioner Fred Hawkins, Jr. Elected CFX Chairman

  • January 11, 2018

(ORLANDO, FL)  ̶  Osceola County Chairman and District 5 Osceola County Commissioner Fred Hawkins, Jr. was unanimously elected Chairman of the Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) Governing Board by his fellow Board members. Commissioner Hawkins has served as a CFX board member since its creation in 2014 and has served as District 5 Osceola County Commissioner since 2008.

“I am honored to serve as the Chairman of the 2018 Governing Board for the Central Florida Expressway Authority,” said Osceola County Chairman Fred Hawkins. “As a veteran member of this Board, I am humbled to have played a part in guiding the development of some of the highest quality transportation infrastructure in the nation, creating local jobs and promoting smart growth for our region.”

At Thursday’s meeting the Board also unanimously elected, Governor Appointee Board member, CFO Golf Channel, Inc. Jay Madara as Vice-Chairman and District 5 Seminole County Commissioner, Brenda Carey as Treasurer. The CFX Governing Board has seven local elected officials, representing the counties of Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole, the city of Orlando, three governor appointees, and the executive director of Florida Turnpike Enterprise as a non-voting advisory member.

About the Central Florida Expressway Authority

The Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX) is an independent agency of the state that operates and maintains a regional network of expressways for 2.3 million residents and more than 60 million visitors in Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola and Seminole Counties. Created by the Florida Legislature in 2014, CFX’s 118-mile user-funded system includes 815 center lane miles, 69 interchanges, 14 mainline toll plazas, 74 ramp toll plazas and 335 bridges and seven named expressways. On average, more than 1 million toll transactions are recorded daily, 85 percent of them electronically. CFX operates E-PASS, the first electronic toll collection system in Florida, which supports more than 350,000 E-PASS accounts. For more information, visit


Facts & Resources

Media Inquiries

Brian Hutchings Senior Communications Specialist Ph: (407) 690-5343 Email:

Overview >

Facts about CFX

Media Kit >

Photos and logos

In The News >

Recent articles

News Releases >

Press releases

Executive Biography >

Laura Kelley, Executive Director

Newsletters >

Recent additions

Filter By Date